Poetry In Pune: Feature @ A Bizarre Weekend, F Beach House


The Hive asked me to ride down to Pune with them and be a poetry feature at A Bizarre Weekend. That’s ‘poetry’ and ‘Pune’ in one sentence so there really was no reason to say no. šŸ™‚

It turned out to be a small, intimate gathering at F Beach House and here are the pieces I read out (rather than performed).

Flamingos is progressing with each telling and I hope that means it’s getting better. I’m very close to this piece and I’d love to know what you think.

I did Baby Invisible way back when I started and coming on the heels of a light-hearted Paper Plane, it felt heavy. But it was a relief to get it out and I didn’t want to revisit it again for awhile. But now I think it’s worth evolving further into something more. Again, what do you think?

Here’s Patchwork Relationship (I called it Love Story Season 2 in one telling). It’s my only ‘strictly poetry’ piece and while I’m happy with it, it doesn’t really evolve.

And finally, I wrote Passive Aggression in a workshop exercise ages ago and pulled it out because we had an empty slot. It’s not really performance but the sounds seem to suggest I could. What do you think, would you like to hear the sound of clanging dishes?

It was an excellent day and I’m very grateful to Culture Shoq for providing a platform for budding writers and other artists to hone and showcase their talent. The Hive is in need of donation and support. If you like my work or at very least, the fact that it becomes possible, please consider helping in some way possible. If you would like to contribute, donate, loan or investĀ any sum please do either in cash at The Hive or reach out to Sudeip Nair at sudeip@alivehive.org.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

