M for Messed Up Relationships


My phone crashed on Sunday night and a litany of other excuses. So life has been slightly off keeter this week but I haven’t given up on myself. It’s still April so I’m still on April 2015 A to Z Challenge. Also, I just realised that you don’t have to write on Sundays on this prompt so *whew* sigh of relief. So here’s one to start up this phone-free existence.

~O~O~O~O~O~

How can you call my relationship messed up
when arranged marriage
is about planets and castes
and love never enters the conversation

How can you say
I’m blind and dumb when
“Is he the right gender?”
is a more important question than
“Does she make you happy?”?

I break up
and I forgive abuse, lies and violence
while you tolerate these
and let them grow into ulcers and cheating
in marriages that sustain.

Husbands have secret dating profiles
Wives fantasise about their classmates
But because they come to dinner together,
you think they know about love.

While I, naked in mind to my best friend
(so what if he’s male?)
loving a girlfriend who makes me laugh
(and she’s married)
awake all night worrying
about an ex- who is killing himself slowly,

I’m just MESSED UP.

~O~O~O~O~O~

Follow the April 2015 AtoZ HERE.

If you liked this post, you’ll want to follow the Facebook Page. I’m Ramya Pandyan (a.k.a. Ideasmith) and I’m on Twitter and Instagram.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “M for Messed Up Relationships

  1. Richard Fernandes April 16, 2015 at 16:22 Reply

    Cool. You seem a bit harsh here, both on yourself and a few invisible, anonymous others mentioned but I suppose that’s good in it’s own way.

    Like

    • IdeaSmith April 27, 2015 at 18:20 Reply

      @Richard Fernandes: True. This came from a very passive-aggressive, angry place inside me.

      Like

  2. Heather M. Gardner April 24, 2015 at 20:53 Reply

    Nice post.

    Thank you for joining the 2015 Blogging from A to Z Challenge.
    We noticed that you stopped posting after the letter M.
    We understand that life gets in the way sometimes.
    Will you be posting more letters or would you prefer to be removed from the list?
    Thank you for your time.
    Heather M. Gardner
    hgardner28@gmail.com
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    Like

    • IdeaSmith April 27, 2015 at 18:21 Reply

      @Heather M.Gardner: Thank you for visiting and for the reminder. Yes, I fell off the schedule following some personal crises. I’ve come out of those though and hope to resume, even if I don’t complete the challenge. Please don’t take me off the list just yet.

      Like

  3. Ranveer vishal May 1, 2015 at 20:27 Reply

    Idea smithy! This is mind-blowing stuff:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

