Mumbai Haiku


At a one-off Haiku event, I attempted a few of my own. The rules I could remember to follow were:

  • A reference to a season/time of the year
  • Two distinct images (no similes)
  • Three lines (I let the syllable count drop though)
  • A full sentence and a sentence fragment

Given that I live in modern-day Mumbai and not picturesque, old-world Japan, my imagery is rather umm….gristly. Be kind.

~O~O~O~O~O~O~

I

Cold cream pitches;
The morning train
blows our trumpet

II

Carrot flower;
The sweating bridegroom
goes crunch

III
Cracked soles;
Hot coffee runs
out from below

IV
Hands outstretched
to own the world;
Celluloid king

V
Evening shower;
The Elephant God
goes home

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mumbai Haiku

  1. carpedieum January 21, 2014 at 20:36 Reply

    Vivid-I like esp “the morning train blowing our trumpet!

    Like

    • IdeaSmith January 29, 2014 at 23:07 Reply

      @carpedieum: 🙂 Thank you, I tried.

      Like

Leave a Reply

