Ideamarked! December 2010: Internet Delights, Online Wars, Schooltime Nostalgia, Curd Rice, Romance, Art & Writing

I’ve had a busy December, what with friends from out-of town, the big relationship questions, getting started on the Yahoo! Real Beauty arrangement and a month-long writing exercise (you’ll have to read further to know what!). But I still managed to keep an eye on things of mutual interest, dear reader. *Pause for applause* :-D I’m feeling upbeat and high-spirited this month. So be nice and leave a comment or two telling me what you think and what else you’d like to see.

  • This would have been par de course in an 80s Bollywood flick dhak-dhak style! (via AwkwardFamilyPhotos)
  • Getting ready for the Kala Ghoda Art Festival 2011.
  • This really appeals to the Ideartist in me! (via PS-IMadeThis)
  • A month-long writing exercise with a daily prompt (via Reverb10) Hat-tipped by Lakshmi Jagad. Also see my posts on this, here.
  • I first heard this song featured on the soundtrack of ’13 Going On 30′ and then fell in love with it. It was the theme song of my journey to the big Three-O and beyond. (Billy Joel’s Vienna Waits For You via YouTube)
  • Two drifters off to see the world, there’s so much of world to see. A classic. (Breakfast in Tiffany’s Moon River via YouTube)
  • Stoopid copywriters, funny fails! (via Failblog)
  • An interesting concept: Turning off your phone as a technological gesture of affection. (via Arzan Wadia)
  • Some of us miss the forest for the trees. And then there are those who remind us to stop and pick a fruit and savour it before burning the forest down. (Ashwini Mishra on the small things)
  • I came upon this blog from a reader response. It took me back to my early days of blogging when blogs were personal journals (not blossoming ebusiness ideas) and bloggers were ordinary human beings (not the next big Internet celebrity). I particularly liked the idea of this tag (yes, another throwback to those days of yore) and his answers. (via Yuva Anandan)
  • I ran into an online war with Bombay Elektrik Projekt after I tweeted that I was disappointed with their Monday Night Slam event. They slammed me on their Facebook page and on Twitter. An account of the event is here.
  • I didn’t send this one in but it instantly reminded me of my Best Friend. (via PostSecret)
  • An ode to that humble king of South Indian cuisine – thayir sadam (curd rice to you philistines). The article has liberal local references so you’re advised to carry a Tamil-English dictionary. But it is worth a read. Damn, my stomach’s growling. And this after having had a sumptous dinner of the aforementioned thayir sadam!! (via HawkEyeView)
  • Remember the teenage sleuthing trio of Jupiter Jones, Pete Crenshaw and Bob Andrews? My early adolescence was checkered with the adventures of The Three Investigators. Here’s remembering.
  • Horsing around (via AwkwardSchoolPictures)
  • Things you would never know without the movies (via TheTopSpace)
  • “Not email but Facebook may launch its own country by Monday!” (via FakingNews).
  • Hardware meets software? The clash of the giants. A good read, even for the techno-greeks. “Apple versus Google” (via IntelligentLife)
  • From the idea-archives: My article on learning to cook from the internet, which featured in JetLite’s in-flight magazine in October 2010. Cooking wannabes and seasoned chefs, do take note! (on The Idea-smithy)

If you see yourself (or your site featured here, if you’d like to be or if you’re just intrigued by the Ideamarked posts, do drop into The Idea-smithy Facebook Page and tell me about it. I love company!

Reverb10.26: The Way To This Woman’s Heart

This Reverb10 post will be very quick. Not because it’s boring. Actually it’s lovely. But it just will be quick.

December 26 – Soul Food

What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

(Author: Elise Marie Collins)

It was nearing the end of the monsoon. Weeks had passed and the ‘OMG really?’ feeling that I woke up to each morning, had ceased a bit. It was still early enough that we tiptoed around each other but not so much that we stopped at that.

We had done the fancy romantic dinner, complete with wine and fine dining in our first month. And a new house had just occupied much time and attention in both our lives. I hadn’t gotten around to thinking about what we were going to do on our second. Then he made a suggestion. In a hesitant, halting voice, peppered with ‘If you don’t mind’ and ‘Only if you think it’s a good idea’, he suggested a home-cooked meal. Did I mind? Did I?

It was the sweetest thing anyone has ever proposed to do for me, let alone actually done. The kitchen was foreign territory to him and utensils were like alien weapons. But he went online. He asked a female friend for advice. He visited a bookshop and bought a book. And he narrowed it down to something he thought I’d like and that he’d be able to manage – pasta.

On the 17th of September, we went shopping together for the ingredients (I insisted). I couldn’t help hovering around to watch him. He looked at bottles and packets and scratched his head. He popped down to the store for a bottle-opener and returned an hour later with a mysterious (dangerous-looking) contraption that neither of us has been able to figure out yet. We ended up breaking open the olive oil can with a kitchen knife. I showed him how to chop the tomatoes. He improvised (on his first cooking attempt!) and grated some cheese after the pasta was almost cooked.

An hour later we spooned the reddish sauce onto the white pasta on plastic plates. It was delicious. It was the best meal I’ve ever had. Call me corny, call me old-fashioned but what could possibly touch this cynical ol’ feminist heart more than a man who – against all odds – cooks a nice meal for her?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,975 other followers

