Reverb 10.1: The Year In A Word

Lakshmi points me in the direction of Reverb 10, a daily writing prompt exercise. After the hoohaa over NaNoWriMo, I’ve succeeded in not penning a single word down this year :-(. At least last year, I managed 3 chapters. Oh well, the life of a writer is chaptered in unfinished stories, I suppose. Here goes nothing anyway.

~O~O~O~O~O~O~

December 1 One Word.

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

Cosinusoid.

I know Sinusoid is a word and it describes a certain wave shape depicted by the sine formula. I also know Cosine is a word and denotes a related formula. Sine waves and cosine waves are almost identical, except that a sine wave begins by going upwards (crest) and then downwards (trough). A cosine wave, on the other hand, starts downward (trough) and then goes upward (crest).

2010 was a year that split into two distinctly different halves for me. It begin with a plummeting of all that was good about the previous year. I hit writer’s block (shudder) and blogger’s block (tremors all over). Grandmother was sick and diagnosed with a deteriorating condition. Mother was sick. And then again. And again. Then I fell sick. That was as far as March (the quarter-year mark) and things still could improve.

But they didn’t. I fell out with a long-time friend. And another. And another. And yet another. And finally out of a social group I’d helped set up. And then another. By June I’d sunk below rock-bottom. And like the graphical representation of a cosine wave, I’d plumbed the depth of my trough.

Things took a sudden turn in June (mid-year, of course). I fell in love. I crossed 31, a milestone I’d been dreading and lived to tell the tale. In September (the start of the last quarter), work suddenly flowed in, all in one week. I wrote an article. And another. Then a column. And then another. Suddenly I could write again! The book has started again too.

I hope to end December 2010 on the high note of writing, career and personal life. That’s why 2010 has been a cosinusoid for me.

How would I like 2011 to go? It would be easy to say I’d just like it to go straight up. But I guess, since I took my three-O sabbatical to break free of the lines, that wouldn’t be it. I’d just like to be able to rise and fall, free of structures and constraints. So I think if I had my way, I’d characterize 2011 by the word,

Flight.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,976 other followers

