I Style! – Painter Girl


When the weather is dreary and my mood matches it, bright colours are the first thing I turn to, to cheer me up. Mumbai is normally sunny (barring those dull monsoon months) but the last few days have been a weird canvas of colourless insipidity. You can’t get too bright on a day like this.

I met Reena a.k.a. Spitphyre in a writers’ discussion and told her she was quite lovely. Of course, that day she was dressed like the pretty girl that she is. But her sense of colour blew me away during the Wall Project. Move over street artists, bright walls and graffitiers, Reena’s outfit puts everyone to shame.

Even on that already bright day, amidst a street awash with colour, Reena’s yellow tie-dye dungarees teamed with a postbox red tee-shirt were what stood out. If you’re thinking it was just a matter of tossing together some randomly colourful outfits, do check out her footwear – sexy, strappy flat sandals in the same shade of red.

Yellow and red painter girl

Yellow and red painter girl

Reena doesn’t have a loud voice or an imposing outline; she doesn’t have to! Her outfit itself was one brilliant exclamation point and she so made it work! Check out the matching sunglasses (in a Posh Beckham shows a smile pose).

Reena dungarees 4

As I keep saying, it isn’t just the colour or the fit, it’s cattitude that makes I Style! work. Here she is in a ‘don’t I look preggie’ pose. That’s on account of the red (matching again!) wallet tucked into the kangaroo style pocket in the front.

That's my fat wallet, not tummy, you dummy!

That's my fat wallet, not tummy, you dummy!

Finally, here’s the lady doing a Bangles number on the sidewalk. Need any more proof that she’s I Style!s latest star?

Walking like an Egyptian

Walking like an Egyptian

~O~O~O~O~O~O~

*Cross-posted to Divadom.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Style! – Painter Girl

  1. Spitphyre November 16, 2009 at 12:47 Reply

    This is one of the coolest things to have ever happened to me and you are a total peach for it Idea!

    Starting today, this particular page is official cheerer-upper for the rest of my online life 😀

    And you guys, this is my chance to say: Do keep visiting EACH AND EVERY website created by this fine woman and read ALL her writings wherever they appear (newspaper, magazine, school book, biscuit wrapper, ANYWHERE). That’s gonna turn out to be your claim to fame someday. Mark my words with a fluorescent highlighter!

    Like

  2. Vishal November 16, 2009 at 13:45 Reply

    You can add me to the Fans of Reena. We’re building a temple and everything. 🙂

    Like

  3. Vandita November 17, 2009 at 19:49 Reply

    You can add me to the Fans of Reena. We’re building a temple and everything. [2]

    Like

Leave a Reply

