All The Time In The World


Ah, the flush of new love!

And I was lost for words
In your arms
Attempting to make sense
Of my aching heart
If I could just be
Everything and everyone to you
This life would just be so easy

Not enough time for all
That I want for you

– INXS ‘Not enough time’

I remember it from a long time ago, a lifetime ago. I recognize it in the faces of strangers, in the anonymous words I read on my computer screen. In the poised-and-posed expressions on painted actors on screen, I read the yearning that was fed into a writer’s mind to create this.

After the pain has subsided, long after when you reach that place of not hurting anymore and past the cynicism, the despair and the feeling that you’ll never love again….what is there at the end of it? It is this…

The thought that love may never again be the raging forest fire that it once (or twice or more) was. But the burning defined you in a way that you’ll never again be the same. And the only thing that can come next is peace. Absolute peace. And there’s all the time in the world.

Love truly is a hue that taints us forever. And in the middle of a hot November afternoon, there’s a cool breeze blowing across my forehead.

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “All The Time In The World

  1. Ashish November 2, 2008 at 08:53 Reply

    Solitude is the best friend in such situations! great post!! 🙂 BTW i think Afterglow is the best of INXS

    Like

  2. Saumil November 3, 2008 at 00:05 Reply

    For me that means those teenage hormones are finally behaving 😉 and we are entering that part of our life where a more meaningful relationship is in the works a relationship not based on looks alone.

    Saumils last blog post..The Prithvi Theatre Festival 6th November 2008

    Like

  3. Dreamcatcher November 3, 2008 at 07:38 Reply

    🙂 Lovely one really.

    Dreamcatchers last blog post..

    Like

  4. IdeaSmith November 6, 2008 at 09:19 Reply

    @ Ashish: 😎 I like it too.

    @ Saumil: Ah, only time will tell what the future has in store for us.

    @ Dreamcatcher: You and I must talk sometime. 🙂

    Like

  5. Ms Taggart November 12, 2008 at 11:24 Reply

    Awesome post… it was like someone was echoing my thoughts on love! 🙂

    Though, I fall under the category of the lucky ones who found love again, and still in love!

    Ms Taggarts last idea: End of an era…

    Like

  6. Ms Taggart November 12, 2008 at 11:24 Reply

    Awesome post… too good! 🙂

    Ms Taggarts last idea: End of an era…

    Like

  7. Ms Taggart November 12, 2008 at 11:25 Reply

    Awesome post… it was like someone was echoing my thoughts on love! 🙂

    Though, I fall under the category of the lucky ones who found love again, and still in love!

    Ms Taggarts last idea: End of an era…

    Like

  8. IdeaSmith November 20, 2008 at 10:09 Reply

    @ Ms Taggart: Congratulations and all the best with it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

