Time To Stand Or Stare


What is this life if full of care, we have no time to stand or stare?

– W.H.Davies

There’s no point in having a window with a view if you never look out of it.

– IdeaSmith

terrace-view.jpg

Yesterday was such a beautiful day – not rainy, not sunny…just perfect! It didn’t even matter that it was a working day and I was at office in the middle of a busy schedule. I took my work up to the terrace with a cup of lemon tea and spent an hour quietly immersed in numbers and charts, occasionally indulging in the sneaky joy of being distraced by the birds on the banyan tree next door.

What bliss, what luxury! In the midst of a maddening city beset by horrible weather, I found myself experiencing something rare, virtually unfamiliar – contentment. I wasn’t thinking that I’d rather be out shopping or watching a movie or swimming or curled up in bed with a book. Everything was as it was; perfect.

I worked late into the evening leaving just a breath before 10 and it took me close to an hour to get home, stuck in traffic jams and bad roads on the way. But it was a perfect day.

And today it rained. *Sigh*

At least I was given yesterday and I took it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Time To Stand Or Stare

  1. Adithya September 19, 2008 at 20:53 Reply

    Someone’s loving life. Good! I need some of those days here where I live.

    Adithyas last blog post..Uncertainty Principle

    Like

  2. vrs September 20, 2008 at 07:45 Reply

    It is really amazing that some one in this world is loving the nature irrespective of busy city life.

    Like

  3. manuscrypts September 21, 2008 at 09:42 Reply

    hmm, figuring out if it applies to Windows too? 😆

    manuscryptss last blog post..Tamarind

    Like

  4. A Cynic in Wonderland September 22, 2008 at 04:10 Reply

    very nice. dont you wish you could just bottle these days to take them out once in a while?

    A Cynic in Wonderlands last blog post..Limerick Dementia

    Like

  5. Jeeves September 22, 2008 at 04:23 Reply

    Green and peaceful Mumbai. Indeed a picture and moment to cherish

    Jeevess last blog post..

    Like

  6. teens to toons September 22, 2008 at 11:20 Reply

    hey .. long time no see…
    no read also..

    but it makes a ot more sense to see some smoke at the end of your nostrils..

    looks like you have had time for blogging

    I don’t know if i can keep going.. I am so far behind but now i keep a small diary and just shorthand my ideas so that one day when i get down to writing them.. atleast i will know 10 of those 100’s i missed…

    you anywayz look good… chao

    teens to toonss last blog post..teen sher

    Like

  7. Ms Taggart September 22, 2008 at 11:22 Reply

    I agree with the quote by IdeaSmith.. 🙂

    Ms Taggarts last blog post..Lousy Monday!

    Like

  8. sri September 22, 2008 at 23:44 Reply

    the day i came to this place i stared at the tree from the window and asked when r u going to have leaves. after long time again i look at the yellow, reddis-orange about to fall leaves…”no time to stand and stare”.

    Like

  9. IdeaSmith September 24, 2008 at 06:45 Reply

    @ Adithya, vrs: I think most of us do but we just get so caught up in the day-to-day run that we forget to appreciate what we have.

    @ manuscrypts: Time to hang or DIV!error… :mrgreen:

    @ Cynic in Wonderland: What an idea, sirjee!!!

    @ Jeeves, Ms.Taggart, sri: 🙂

    @ teens to toons: Right, a diary might help you hold on to your own ideas so you don’t need to plagiarize other people’s posts. And in case you’re still wondering, yes, this is exactly what I meant.

    Like

  10. chhavi September 29, 2008 at 14:33 Reply

    I found myself quoting that poem “Leisure” so often my last year in Boston… 🙂 That’s a gorgeous tree you have outside your window. I mostly have a jungle of concrete 😉

    Like

  11. […] written about my uprooted office spaces. I knew that would be temporary so I didn’t put down roots. This Monday morning opened with the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

