Imitation Is An Insincere Form of Flattery


I’m really happy to know that my posts are liked. I’m thrilled to bits when people comment or mail me to say that they identify with my posts. But attention can be a double-edged sword, what? 

Awhile ago, someone tipped me off to a blog that had lifted one of my posts. Before I had a chance to check it out, however, the copycat post had been removed. What’s more, the author of that blog turned up at my blog to apologize. A short while later, he also put up a post that was a glowing testimonial to me. Err, well…thank you very much…is all I was able to say.

Soon after, I had a chance to chat with one of his friends who told me that he often quoted my posts and spoke about me. Well, what does one say to that? Everyone likes admiration. I did too even while I found it disconcerting that someone I had never seen, met or spoken to, was praising me.

Today I discovered that another of my posts (and one of my favorites too!) has been picked and posted on his blog. It does say that he read it somewhere, though not where. I’m rather doubtful that such a long post could have been relived from memory without any recollection of its source.

I’m still reluctant to let this become unpleasant. So, to my imitation-as-sincere-flattery copycat reader, I say,

Thank you.

But I value honesty far above admiration. If it’s a choice of one over the other, I’ll pick the first any day. You however, don’t seem to be giving me a choice.

I’m not pleased or flattered about this at all. If that matters to you, don’t bother apologizing. Just take that post off right now.

You know who you are so I won’t use your name. Not just yet.

I trust you get the message.

I am really hoping that I won’t need to allude to this matter again.

Tagged:

12 thoughts on “Imitation Is An Insincere Form of Flattery

  1. Varun Sadana May 30, 2008 at 10:51 Reply

    Yup.. bad bad blogger. I agree its hatable, and was good of u to have written this post!
    Now what if he/she posts this post to his/her blog.. that should be fun.. and limits! 😉

    Varun Sadanas last blog post..Two D’z – He Can…

    Like

  2. rambler May 30, 2008 at 13:21 Reply

    Idea.. I googled the subject of blog plagiarism, and was surprised to find so much content, I was surprised to see that this is such a big concern word wide
    however you can try this copyscape, where you can find out if someone has copied your website content

    ramblers last blog post..Flashes

    Like

  3. […] your blog post on their own blogs without any attribution whatsoever?  Fellow DesiPundit Ideasmith wonders what to do in such a situation. Today I discovered that another of my posts (and one of my favorites too!) has been picked and […]

    Like

  4. silverine May 31, 2008 at 06:18 Reply

    Came here via Desipundit. I have had over 14 posts of mine plagiarized and it was alert readers who bought it to my notice. Now I regularly run my blog through http://www.copyscape.com/. I have caught two bloggers through this tool! Hope this helps!

    silverines last blog post..Karva Chauth 2.0

    Like

  5. Rada June 1, 2008 at 17:12 Reply

    IS!

    Never even imagined such things were possible!

    This could be funny were it not so pathetic!

    Like

  6. Cynic in Wonderland June 3, 2008 at 06:51 Reply

    but what are those copyright infrigement thngies we put up supposed to be doing

    Cynic in Wonderlands last blog post..The dark face of honour.

    Like

  7. IdeaSmith June 3, 2008 at 10:28 Reply

    @ Varun: He didn’t get the message apparantly since the post is STILL up. Even after I’ve written another post shaming him.

    @ rambler: Thanks for the tip! I really need this now.

    @ silverine: Thanks too! I didn’t realise it was such a widespread concern till it happened to me.

    @ Rada: I’m still not laughing. That post is still up there. 👿

    @ Cynic: Gawdaloneknows.

    Like

  8. Dee June 6, 2008 at 18:33 Reply

    That turd!! 😯 Name calling may be the best way and giving link to his site. My sympathies

    Dees last blog post..Toads Are Ugly

    Like

  9. Shantanu June 16, 2008 at 04:02 Reply

    Ouch! In my case, it is usually the photos.

    Shantanus last blog post..Bringing in the Monsoon at Goa

    Like

  10. IdeaSmith June 22, 2008 at 16:00 Reply

    @ Dee: It worked this time. It’s to be hoped that he won’t repeat it.

    @ Shantanu: That’s awful too, isn’t it? Try watermarking them with your name or URL.

    Like

  11. […] experienced copycats before, both in the offline and the online world. Online is where it struck me as most stupid, considering […]

    Like

  12. […] ago, I found one of my posts showing up in another place. (see the case here) I groaned. Copycats (1, 2) are not new to me but somehow one never gets used to the unpleasantness of the experience. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

