Smarting


I detest people who say that they detest something and then proceed to do the same to other people. Even if the other people don’t have any issues with it.

This statement reminds me of a line from The Namesake

I detest American television!

It was startling the first time round and then funny on the repeat when re-iterated in an accurate imitation. 

But I’m not European, I’m not an NRI and these days I’m not even intelligent or talented. Did I mention? I’ve decided to dumb down after all these years of thinking up.

Read a story about a man who called himself ‘King of Banter’. Actually I knew him. Knew him well, admired him and loved him dearly. Enough to want to be like him , be on the same Planet Smarties as him. I did well…and a few years later, in unabashed admiration he commented that ‘the pupil had overtaken the master’. She overtook ME too. 

So enough with the smartass comments, enough with the sass, enough with being brilliantly witty, enough of the budding smartling. I was born average and I’m going back to being so.

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Smarting

  1. hyde September 13, 2007 at 18:05 Reply

    Sometime it is nice to enjoy the simple things in life. 😛

    Like

  2. Ashish September 14, 2007 at 11:42 Reply

    forget everything and just be yourself girl!! there is no feeling like it!!

    Like

  3. dom September 14, 2007 at 12:02 Reply

    who determines average in any case…..: )

    Like

  4. Sreejith September 14, 2007 at 22:45 Reply

    “maybe you have to stay foolish to be happy” thats what a friend today told me and then i come here and read this!! signs!

    Like

  5. Brad September 14, 2007 at 22:50 Reply

    If you were born average, and you are going back to being so…then what were you feigning to be up until now? And whatever your answer might be, why are you reneging and going to wherever it is that you want to go! [Try saying all that real fast 😀 Tee hee]

    Like

Leave a Reply

