I Style! – Designer


I saw a girl on the train carrying this bag that caught my eye. I asked her if I could take a picture of it and she agreed. A little surprised perhaps and guarded as anyone would be in this city of callous strangers but agreeable nevertheless.

K (I forgot to ask if I could use her name) is a designer-in-training and wanted to know if I was a designer as well. I told her what I did instead and it must have seemed very boring to someone as young and creative as she.

Who says style can’t have a sense of humour? This bag caught my eye since it cocks-a-snook at the blatent consumerism of our generation today. (At least, I hope that’s what its designer intended!) One little bag laughs a proverbial ‘Heehee’ at a city that creates and lives by brands. Here it is…tell me what you think.

The bag says,

New!

MAMoth Perfect

Net Weight: 200g

CLOTHES SO CLEAN, THEY LOOK LIKE NEW!

And K, a designer is supposed to bring beauty to the world and what’s more beautiful that bold colours and a delightful sense of humour? All the very best to you and your efforts to beautify this world!

~O~O~O~O~O~O~

* Cross-posted to Divadom.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “I Style! – Designer

  1. perspectiveinc June 15, 2007 at 13:46 Reply

    Lol!I just love kitschy stuff…

    Like

  2. Brad June 15, 2007 at 23:01 Reply

    ‘moth’ – Using the Hindi pronunciation – it means ‘death’

    ‘moth’ eaten – completely differs from ‘like new’.

    Mam-moth Perfect – The perfect death of a ma’am.

    Oh well.

    Like

  3. ideasmith June 16, 2007 at 14:42 Reply

    @ Perspectiveinc: 🙂 It made me laugh too.

    @ Brad: We don’t talk to unpunctual A.Es who don’t call us to tell us they’re late.

    Like

  4. Brad June 16, 2007 at 20:24 Reply

    Bebe, you have no idea what kind of ‘late’ situation I am in presently! More in an email.

    Like

  5. ideasmith June 16, 2007 at 21:05 Reply

    @ Brad: 😦

    Like

  6. Brad June 17, 2007 at 06:57 Reply

    We assume that you read the email. Exactly –> 😦

    Like

  7. ideasmith June 17, 2007 at 19:28 Reply

    @ Brad: Awwww…read the mail. Hang in there, we’ll wait.

    Like

  8. sense June 18, 2007 at 19:04 Reply

    I like… kinda reminds of the ad- mad world spooofs we used to do in college… (seem so long ago- sure signs i’m over the hill- i’m reminiscing!!!)

    Like

  9. ideasmith June 20, 2007 at 13:47 Reply

    @ sense: Oh, yes, I’d forgotten! Gawd, I’m even older then!!!

    Like

  10. Tangy Toes | Mumbai Metblogs May 6, 2008 at 08:50 Reply

    […] I’ll start a section where I report interesting fashion ’spottings’ in the city. (See an earlier sighting here!)Thank you, Anjani, for inspiration and for the […]

    Like

  11. The Idea-smithy | Tangy Toes May 6, 2008 at 08:51 Reply

    […] I’ll start a section where I report interesting fashion ’spottings’ in the city. (See an earlier sighting here!)Thank you, Anjani, for inspiration and for the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

