Copycat!


I am very annoyed to find that my posts are being copied and passed off as original. I know this happens to some extent but I’m appalled to find how unabashedly this person is filching my posts.

Here are two of my posts I found:

http://thedireass.wordpress.com/2006/11/16/fascination/
which I wrote way back here.

He has also copied No Promises here. At least this one has a link back to my post but I’m irritated nevertheless. Mr.Direass, do you have anything to say for yourself? Or am I giving you too much credit by imagining you can actually say something original?

17 thoughts on “Copycat!

  1. Anonymous January 6, 2007 at 21:39 Reply

    Don’t you think that is just a great compliment? Somebody is just trying to be you. Maybe you should just tutor him.

    You can anyday burst the bubble by just stating in that blog – “Originally thought and interpreted to words at https://ideasmithy.wordpress.com/…”.

    I think you should just be enjoying all the attention you are getting.

    Like

  2. An Echo January 7, 2007 at 01:02 Reply

    He copied ur “no promises” too 😦

    Like

  3. Brad January 7, 2007 at 09:38 Reply

    Hey, we never discussed how did you find out?

    Like

  4. Queenie January 7, 2007 at 12:59 Reply

    Your words probably spoke to him.
    He probably wants to remember them.

    Q

    Like

  5. perspective inc January 8, 2007 at 08:28 Reply

    That sucks!!
    Hope he pulled those posts!
    How does one find out if their posts are being plagiarised?

    Like

  6. Queenie January 8, 2007 at 12:47 Reply

    When one marks favorite passages from a book, does one ask the author if it is okay to do so?
    I do not think there is plagiarism here.
    But I do think it could be a blog romance!

    Q

    Like

  7. ideasmith January 8, 2007 at 13:56 Reply

    @ Echo: I know.

    @ Brad: Call me and I’ll tell you.

    @ Queenie: Maybe. But I’m not flattered if he’s passing off my work as his own. As for marking passages, that’s done in a book that is read by a few people. What’s more, no one reading the book is going to think that the person who made the markings, actually wrote the book. The same doesn’t hold true for the blog. This is plagiarism without doubt. As for romance with such a person, I have no respect for people who do this.

    Like

  8. ideasmith January 8, 2007 at 13:57 Reply

    @ Perspective: The posts are still up there and with no reply to the comments, either.

    Like

  9. Melody January 8, 2007 at 18:07 Reply

    What an As*@#^ – he’s such a loser… his about page reads more like a matrimonial ad…

    Like

  10. ideasmith January 8, 2007 at 18:21 Reply

    @ Melody: LOL….I sure hope he’s reading these comments.

    Like

  11. Day zero « The Idea-smithy January 8, 2007 at 18:27 Reply

    […] ideasmith on Copycat!ideasmith on All good things come to an endMelody on All good things come to an endMelody on […]

    Like

  12. Pensivelawyer January 8, 2007 at 19:22 Reply

    Queenie: Why not remove any doubt and simply write one line giving credit where its due?

    If i like a passage from a book and wish to reproduce it on my blog, i’d simply write the name of the author or book. There must exist no doubt as to whose work it is.

    Like

  13. julieluongo January 9, 2007 at 08:35 Reply

    Well, you know what they say. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Of course, if you disagree, I would also “say:”

    It isn’t always a difference of opinion. Sometimes it’s a difference of being.
    And that can’t be ever be bridged.

    It’s exciting to try however. Like standing at the edge of a precipice and trying to touch the other side. Until one falls into the crevasse.

    Then it isn’t exciting. But the thrill never fades.

    XO!

    Like

  14. ideasmith January 9, 2007 at 10:21 Reply

    @ Pensivelawyer: Thank goodness I have you on my side!!!

    @ Julieluongo: :p Isshmart girlll *in Hindi-film-villian Ajit style*

    Like

  15. anu August 9, 2008 at 04:54 Reply

    imitation is the best form of flattery.. well very irritating nevertheless if it is so shameless that someone starts imitating thoughts, imagination and life! i know this was a long back.. hope it was pulled off..

    anus last blog post..Woh bhooli daastaan..!

    Like

  16. […] experienced copycats before, both in the offline and the online world. Online is where it struck me as most stupid, […]

    Like

  17. […] I found one of my posts showing up in another place. (see the case here) I groaned. Copycats (1, 2) are not new to me but somehow one never gets used to the unpleasantness of the experience. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

