Sawadasee Thailand!


I am in Thailand this week. I don’t think I know any bloggers here, but if I’m wrong, please feel free to correct me and get in touch! Do I sound unusually clipped and formal? Perhaps its because I’m spending this entire week away from my safe world of family and friends and only in the company of the people I work with.

There are masks all of us wear and juggle. I’m wearing my ‘office’ face till next Sunday. It isn’t necessarily bad.

Right now I’m sitting at the comp alone and typing this out, while most of my colleagues are out on a break. Some have put up their feet for a rest, someone is smoking outside in the lobby, someone is reading and one of them is missing her husband. Or perhaps I’m wrong. After all, none of them know what I’m doing right now. Or that I’m thinking about each of them and what he or she is doing.

This is going to be a week of plenty of new experiences. I am in a country I’ve never visited before, in a professional and personal setting that I am not familiar with. New food, new language, new culture but also new ideas, new people, new etiquettes. And in the midst of it all, the thoughts. I’m on a watch-only, think-later mode. So I’ll try to blog as often as possible, not with well-thought out posts but just things that rattle around in my head all day.

Whew…it feels good to spit all that out.

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Sawadasee Thailand!

  1. Anonymous June 26, 2006 at 19:22 Reply

    You have got to try out a nice Thai massage…its defi a life altering experience! The ‘think later’ mode should help you go through with it.

    SK

    Like

  2. anjali* June 26, 2006 at 19:33 Reply

    Think the title should be “Sawasdee” 🙂 If you’re in Bangkok, try to go to the Chacuchak market over the weekend. It rocks!

    Like

  3. Brad June 27, 2006 at 12:52 Reply

    OH! Until I read the above comment, I thought you were tryin to say ‘Swadesh’ something! 😦

    Have fun in Thailand.

    Like

  4. Australopithecus June 27, 2006 at 21:30 Reply

    arey you too…its amazing in the alst few weeks how many people I ahve come across who are eitehr going to go to thailand or have just come back form there..

    Like

  5. Valhalla June 30, 2006 at 04:48 Reply

    An alien land, yet not a faraway one. Enjoy your stay, the sights, and sounds. 🙂

    Like

  6. J. Alfred Prufrock July 2, 2006 at 19:10 Reply

    Ran out of resolve? No updates on your Thai sojourn.

    Hope you enjoyed yourself at least.

    J.A.P.

    Like

  7. Peeyush July 3, 2006 at 14:38 Reply

    I like that country no end. Not just the food and massages, but the whole experience of rejuvenating there.

    Enjoy, think later.

    Meanwhile allow me to link your blog on my blogroll, for it is really something I enjoy checking up.

    Like

  8. Srini August 4, 2006 at 23:31 Reply

    ah …wish I had read this before. I could have come there while you were around! Indians get visa on arrival there.Hope you had a good time..

    Like

Leave a Reply

