In short…


This was fun. It is even more of a challenge to say something in a few words than to say it in many.

Sagnik tagged me so here goes…my 55-word stories.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Worker

The sun was shining, a blazing yellow-white. Heedlessly they trudged on.
“But do I have to?” he thought. “What if I break the pattern?”

He paused and started walking off in another direction. At a tangent.
Immediately he was swept away by a huge monstrosity that he never even saw coming at him.

“Damn ants”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Wedding

Marigolds floating in water in earthen pots. Bamboo shoots by the door.

She ran a critical eye over them all.
Perfect. Just the way she always wanted.
A perfect wedding to the perfect man.

“Fantastic! You must be so happy.”
“I am” she acknowleged
and moved away before they could say

“Its your turn next”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And I have to pass this on so I tag Sen, Ava and The Lone Rangers

You have to write a story in 55 words. Have fun!

Tagged: , , , ,

13 thoughts on “In short…

  1. Brad September 23, 2005 at 22:12 Reply

    The Wait.

    Smithy and I exchanged worried glances wondering whether everything had gone as planned.
    Kasim should have been back at the cottage by then; he was late by 10 minutes. A bead of anxious sweat trickled down her neck into her pink blouse.

    The wait continued. “Where the heck was Kasim? I hope he’s not dead.”

    🙂

    Like

  2. Arun September 24, 2005 at 01:48 Reply

    The name of your blog brought me here. This was the first name that we had thought of for our design studio but somehow didn’t go ahead with it. Glad to know the name is in safe hands 🙂

    Liked your blog. Will come back soon to go through all of it.

    ~ Arun

    Like

  3. Handa September 25, 2005 at 02:36 Reply

    neat

    Like

  4. infinity September 25, 2005 at 04:20 Reply

    your ant thing reminds me of a poem i wrote last year…here it is…

    the little red devils come marching upon me
    to take my body and claim my soul
    they know no limits, know no boundary
    they just march in to eat me whole
    they march right in when i am sleeping
    they have no god apart from need
    from every crevice they come out creeping
    feeding on death, their only creed
    they’re everywhere the eye can see
    inside my room, upon my bed
    they crawl on my skin full of glee
    they even crawl inside my head
    i cannot run, i cannot hide
    cornered thus, i have to fight
    they hurt me hard,they wound my pride
    crushing my soul with all their might
    they have their fill,they take the spoils
    they leave me hurt, in deepest sorrow
    i make a resolve, my anger boils
    i’ll kill those goddamned ants tomorrow!!!

    Like

  5. The Lone Rangers September 26, 2005 at 16:54 Reply

    Excellent! I am on it!

    Like

  6. timeintotime September 26, 2005 at 19:33 Reply

    The tear in the carpet folded inwards between the two stairs. He drew his face close. Olfactory insult from cheap French cologne leapt towards him. He held his nose and stared. The blackest darkness he had ever seen and then, two glistening slits, two beady eyes.

    “When was the last time you had this read?”

    Like

  7. manuscrypts September 30, 2005 at 19:42 Reply

    lol@ the worker 🙂

    Like

  8. abhi September 30, 2005 at 20:07 Reply

    yea, worker was gooood .. plumento!

    this damn 55 word thing is catchin like mad fire

    Like

  9. Contrarian September 30, 2005 at 23:52 Reply

    Hi got new post read it! 🙂

    Like

  10. Puja October 2, 2005 at 21:26 Reply

    …..every single morning I confess to wondering why I do what I do, live the way I do and hate my life.

    – could soo relate to that!!

    Like

  11. Jane October 2, 2005 at 22:18 Reply

    Thank you for your comment and birthday wish… It is coming soon. Womanhood blessed me 😉 literaly a few years ago, that is not cracked up to what it should be. I was referring more into the actual becoming of a person, a women perhaps, that can set the world on fire as my friend seemed to believe… Thank you again, it’s so fun to meet new bloggers. I will come back and visit!

    Like

  12. Epiphany June 4, 2008 at 08:21 Reply

    🙂 great minds DO think alike!

    Epiphanys last blog post..The glass house

    Like

  13. IdeaSmith June 5, 2008 at 08:59 Reply

    @ Epiphany: 😛 And welcom to the Idea-smithy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

