Secret crush


Yesterday you asked me who it was
…who was the cause for my new look
…whose attention was I trying to catch
…who was giving me dreams that made me smile

What else would you ask me if I spoke your name in reply each time?

Would you change if I said I was falling
and hoping you’d be there to catch me
as you have been these past few months?

Would you stay if I never said goodbye?
Would your words flow forever if I didn’t break the conversation this time?
Would you laugh if I told you your laughter warms my heart?
…And lights up the moment with appreciation and understanding…would it make you blush?

Would you smile secretly to yourself if I dropped you a broad hint instead?
And pretend you hadn’t heard just to hear me call your name again?

Perhaps you would…or maybe you won’t.
I sense you would want to anyway.
So I won’t say a thing.

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “Secret crush

  1. induscreep December 20, 2006 at 01:21 Reply

    Brilliant brilliant poem.

    Like

  2. ideasmith December 20, 2006 at 11:35 Reply

    @ Induscreep: Thank you!

    Like

  3. someonearbit January 9, 2007 at 09:32 Reply

    Stunning

    Like

  4. ideasmith January 9, 2007 at 10:19 Reply

    @ Someonearbit: 🙂 Thank you.

    Like

  5. its me a shadow February 23, 2007 at 15:35 Reply

    hm..
    great!

    Like

  6. Beth May 23, 2007 at 05:55 Reply

    It’s perfect 🙂

    Like

  7. Ms Taggart January 16, 2009 at 18:48 Reply

    Hmm.. this one’s a beauty too… You have a way with words.. 🙂

    Ms Taggarts last idea: A woman should have…

    Like

  8. Arcopol June 10, 2009 at 11:15 Reply

    Comment for the text – Lovely.
    Comment for the context – Hmmmmmmmmmmm 🙂

    Like

    • IdeaSmith June 10, 2009 at 17:46 Reply

      @arcopol: Heh. 😉

      @Arpz: Merci beaucoup!

      @Ms Taggart: 🙂

      @DC: All fiction is based on fact. This one is from 4years back.

      Like

  9. Arpz June 10, 2009 at 11:30 Reply

    bon, tres bon

    Arpzs last idea: Embittered

    Like

  10. Ms Taggart June 10, 2009 at 14:11 Reply

    Cute and neat! Very sweet!

    Ms Taggarts last idea: WOMM!

    Like

  11. DC June 10, 2009 at 14:38 Reply

    Fiction?
    😛
    Very cute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

